tilly makes & bakes

Always striving to achieve a state of domestic bliss!

One person’s junk…

1 Comment

… is another person’s treasure! Isn’t that just the truth!? Those who know me, are aware that I am partial to a touch of second hand shopping. The great British Charity Shop is maybe not the most stylish high street haunt these days but I couldn’t love them more. I try to take little H at least once a week to see which new bits and bobs we can find. Oh the excitement… you never know what will be waiting for you each time. The whole concept of the charity shop appeals to me as obviously things that would otherwise be chucked out and end up in landfill are sold on to be given a whole new life. And all the while money is raised for a local or national cause.

I am very excited to share some of my recent finds here. There was this perfect children’s chair.

P1050592

I am in love with the pattern and colour of the little cushion. Chair and cushion were a steal. Little H made me chuckle as she sat in the chair by the till whilst I paid.

We found this lovely hand crochet cushion cover.

P1050601

It has since been filled with a pale blue cushion and it looks very stylish on my comfy rocking chair.

We have recently picked up a few of these lacy shawls and tablecloths. They usually cost around £1 and we use them to set the dolly kitchen for tea parties or on the floor as a picnic blanket. Can’t wait to build pretty dens using these with the girls in the garden when the weather brightens up.

P1050611

I am currently loving vintage inspired illustrations and so I was thrilled to find some gorgeous old books (one was actually given to us by a friend who was sorting through her grown up sons old books).

P1050595

P1050598

P1050599

How sweet is this little lady?

P1050600

I have spent ages poring over the gorgeous pictures.

Besides these we have picked up a slightly garish plastic fairy castle because we are planning on planting up a fairy garden in a big barrel outside. I am thinking violets, pebbles and glass nuggets as paths, a little playmobil bench perhaps. We are just waiting for a sunny day to start our project and of course I will share here how it all went.

One thought on “One person’s junk…

  1. Hello
    Yay thank you for joining my Stationery swap I have just added your name in on my side bar.
    could you please email me your email address thank you
    Hugs x
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers