tilly makes & bakes

Always striving to achieve a state of domestic bliss!

And the festive sewing begins…

Leave a comment

Last year I made a personalised stocking for my Hannah. I started off with a shop bought felt stocking kit and just sewed the pieced together by hand, adding little personalised touches and embroidering her name on. This is a photo showing some of the pieces before sewing them all together.

I was so pleased with the end result- not bad for a first attempt, don’t you think? I got hooked on the embroidery as it was so easy and quick to do. Running out of time, I used a shop bought felt stocking and embroidered my nephew’s name onto that. It literally took me about 30 minutes to do.

Felt is really easy to work with, especially for a beginner like me and if you don’t have a sewing machine to hand. I actually taught myself some simple stitches using this children’s craft book. It has simple illustrations, clear step by step instructions and some lovely ideas for projects.

Naturally, I need to make one of these for my baby girl’s first Christmas this year. I have all my materials ready to go and am just waiting for a bit of peace and quiet to get going… I am hoping i will be able to make a start this weekend.

Fabric sample for the pocket

I am going for a different fabric for the pocket this time to make the stockings for the girls a bit more individual. I just love this material from Emma Bridgewater. The design is called “Joy”. I thought the little holly leaves and berries are very fitting for my little girl. Can you guess what her name is?

Looking forward to spending many happy hours stitching this thing together in the run up to Christmas.

And who knows, maybe I will find one of these under the tree this year?

I have been a very good girl, after all!

Leave a Reply

